We decided to do an experiment. These are our current favorite names that start with A, there are 25 girls and 7 almost made the top. I’ve included meaning, origin, popularity, and a little blurb on our love for the name. The boys with be up soon.we will hopefully remember to do this again next January. 

Michelle Leigh
   
 GIRLS

1.

Amelia

Meaning: “work”         Origin: German          Popularity: 12th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  I’ve loved this name for as long as I can remember and I doubt that my love for this name will ever fade. Even with its growing popularity, Amelia makes my top girl names always. I associate strong women with this name and wouldn’t hesitate to use it.

 

August

Meaning: “majestic, venerable”     Origin: Latin      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: I’m not really sure the reasoning behind my love for this name. But in a story Michelle and I wrote, our characters were siblings with A names and I remember thinking August would be such a pretty name to use.

 

Aria

Meaning: “air; lioness”    Origin: Italian; Hebrew     Popularity: 29th in the US (2015)

Georgie:   There’s this character in My Little Pony: Equestria Girls named Aria and she’s one of my favorites. So this name is too.

 

2.

Aoife

Pronunciation: EE-fa      Meaning: “beautiful, radiant”      Origin: Irish Gaelic

Popularity: 167th in England (2015) *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:  I have a big thing for Irish names, this one is my all time favorite. Aoife is short, gorgeous, and has been some very bad ass women in Irish folklore. In one she’s the fiercest warrior of the land and I just love it. Baby Aoife, the future warrior.

 

Alaska

Meaning: “great land”     Origin: Native American   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina:  One thing about Michelle and I is that we read an insane amount; which leads to where I first saw this name. A girl in a book I was reading was named Alaska. At first I found it a strange name, but as the more I read, it really began to grow on me, eventually becoming a quick favorite.

 

Azura

Meaning: “sky blue”      Origin: French    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:  I know this name from Fire Emblem Fates. There’s this awesome character with actually sky blue colored hair.

 

3.

Agatha

Meaning: “good woman”    Origin: Greek

Popularity: 666th in England (2015) *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:  I can see why people think this name is “outdated” but there’s something there that has always drawn me to this name. Maybe it was growing up on Halloweentown and hearing Agatha Cromwell repeatedly or constantly reading Agatha Christie’s books. But regardless, I love it, especially the built in nickname, Aggie.

 

Aroxie

Meaning: N/A        Origin: Created         Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: Back to the story writing, Michelle and I had a story where her character was named Bandit and I really wanted a cool name as well. So Aroxie was the name she came up with and I absolutely adore this name.

 

Astrid

Meaning: ” divinely beautiful”         Origin: Norse        Popularity: 890th in the US (2015)

Georgie:    My sister and I love the series and movie franchise of How to Train Your Dragon. Astrid is a fierce viking in both and she really made me like this name.

 

4.

Ada

Meaning: “nobility, noble”       Origin: German        Popularity: 357th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  I cannot tell you why this name is one of my favorites. Maybe it’s from books I’ve read, movies I’ve seen but its a simple and charming name. I’m really excited that people aren’t ignoring this name anymore.

 

Amethyst

Meaning: purple gem     Origin: gem or color name    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: It’s a name that reminds me always of my best friend Michelle. I feel like it really represents her well as it is her birthstone and she really likes the color purple. I think it kicks a different punch than names like it such as Ruby and Sapphire.

 

Annie

Meaning: “grace”   Origin: English   Popularity: 323rd in the US (2015)

Georgie:    Like my sister I’m a nerd. I like this name from an anime Attack on Titan. She’s not the nicest character but she does have a pretty sweet name.

 

5.

Anastasia

Pronunciation: Anna-STAY-zha or Ahna-STAH-zha     Meaning: “resurrection”

Origin: Greek     Popularity: 216th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This name timeless to me, it crosses country lines, and brings a royal feel. I think of that children’s animated film, Anastasia, and it just makes this name better. Plus the meaning is inspiring.

 

Audrey

Meaning: “noble strength”     Origin: English      Popularity: 37th in the US (2015)

Mina: I love Audrey Hepburn. I think she’s so graceful and classic. She’s one of the greats and definitely one of my favorites. She’s one of the many reasons this name made my list.

 

Aveline

Meaning: “the hazelnut tree”       Origin: Diminutive of Avila or French cognate of Hazel

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:     Its simple: Dragon Age. Enough said.

 

6.

Annabelle

Meaning: “loving”        Origin: Combination of Anna and Belle or French form of Amabel

Popularity: 92nd in the US (2015)

Michelle:  There’s this childrens movie named Annabelle. Its about a cow named Annabelle, that really wants to be a reindeer, and help fly the sleigh with Santa. I won’t ruin the ending but since watching that movie over and over, Annabelle has been a longtime favorite.

 

Arizona

Meaning: “little springs”           Origin: place name from Papago Indian

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: Growing up, I moved around quite a few times and Arizona was one of the places I lived. Out of all the place I lived as little kid, it held the best memories for me. I also find that it makes a really cool name.

 

Artemis

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of the Hunt      Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:   I automatically think of the Greek goddess and how strong she was. I like that she didn’t take anyone’s crap.

 

7.

Adeline

Meaning: “nobility, noble”      Origin: French       Popularity: 135th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This name is really popular at the moment but with spellings such as Adalynn or Adelyn in the US. I like how this name possess three pronunciations. That’s so cool to me, I just think with the versatility of the name it’s way more usable nowadays.

 

Adelaide

Meaning: “noble, nobility”     Origin: German     Popularity: 273rd in the US (2015)

Mina: I think this name is really pretty. I first heard it from Adelaide Kane from Reign and that kicked off my love. But as time went on, this name because a favorite of mine because I love the sound of it and the nickname Addy is really adorable.

 

Alba

Meaning: “white”     Origin: Latin

Popularity: 273rd in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,00 US}

Georgie:   I’m weird and I named the Indominus Rex in the new Jurassic World movie this becuase Dommy just wasn’t cutting it for me.

 

8.

Astrid

Meaning: ” divinely beautiful”         Origin: Norse        Popularity: 890th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  What a bad ass name, Astrid, like you just imagine a little viking. That could also be that there is an Astrid in How to Train Your Dragon, who is bona-fide ass kicker. I’d love to see this name and more names like it come back. We could all storm and conquer. Be pretty cool.

 

Athena

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of Wisdom    Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: 157th in the US (2015)

Mina: Athena is my favorite Greek Goddess followed closely by Aphrodite, Demeter and Artemis. I admire her strength and her brain. I like to think that her and Aphrodite held their own well against all the Gods. She’s fierce and true to what she believed it.

 

Andromeda

Meaning: “advising like a man”    Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:  the new Mass Effect is coming out and it’s called Mass Effect: Andromeda. It sounds cool.

 

9.

Alma

Pronunciation: AHL-ma      Meaning: “nurturing, soul”     Origin: Latin       Popularity: 686th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  I like the sweet, caring feel I get from this name. Its like a loving family member taking care of you. Yeah, it’s a bit in the past but it’s definitely not an “old” lady name. I’m happy it’s getting a little revival.

 

Annie

Meaning: “grace”   Origin: English   Popularity: 323rd in the US (2015)

Mina: I find this to be an adorable name. It sounds so cute and I’d love to have a little girl named Annie

 

Astoria

Meaning: Surname derivative    Origin: place name    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:   I seriously have no idea, it just sounds pretty.

 

10.

Audrey

Meaning: “noble strength”     Origin: English      Popularity: 37th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This name will never be old, outdated, or lame. It may be a bit overused nowadays but that doesn’t detract from the beauty. It conjures up pictures of Audrey Hepburn’s silverscreen dominance.

 

Arrow

Meaning: word name      Origin: old Norse      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: As much I tend to go for more classic names, I do have a love for different names. I can’t tell you exactly why I love Arrow as a girls name. But I think it’s a fierce, ‘don’t mess with me’ kind of name

 

Alma

Pronunciation: AHL-ma      Meaning: “nurturing, soul”     Origin: Latin       Popularity: 686th in the US (2015)

Georgie:   Haha, the video game FEAR and the main antagonist is a little dead girl named Alma.

 

11.

Anouk

Meaning: “grace”      Origin: Dutch and French

Popularity: 96th in the Netherlands *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:  I first saw this on a Buzzfeed list of cool Dutch names. And I fell hard. This is just beautifully spunky name. Could easily being an alternative for Anna. Hopefully people find this name and love it like I do.

 

Aphrodite

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of Love     Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: She’s Michelle’s favorite Goddess. Honestly I think Aphrodite is a true badass. Without her, we’d lack love and compassion. She’s soulful and truly feels. I also think she tends to be undermined and looked over and I don’t think she deserves that.

 

Alice

Meaning: “noble”      Origin: German       Popularity: 87th in the US  (2015)

Georgie:   Tim Burtons remake of the Disney classic really had me loving the strong warrior Alice. She made me like this name.

 

12.

Arden

Meaning: “valley of the eagle”    Origin: English      Popularity: 912th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  Being the book nerd I am, I love literary names, which will probably be prevalent in my favorites. Arden is famously known for being in Shakespeare’s work as well his mom’s name. This is gender bender name which I favor too, it could have easily made both lists.

 

Anastasia

Pronunciation: Anna-STAY-zha or Ahna-STAH-zha     Meaning: “resurrection”

Origin: Greek     Popularity: 216th in the US (2015)

Mina: This name is one that grew on me because of Michelle’s love for it. I like the regality of the name as well, it’s a beautiful name.

 

Anastasia

Pronunciation: Anna-STAY-zha or Ahna-STAH-zha     Meaning: “resurrection”

Origin: Greek     Popularity: 216th in the US (2015)

Georgie:     Like my sissy, I love it from the animated film. I grew watching it with her, hearing the name over and over, it stuck in my head.

 

13.

Alba

Meaning: “white”     Origin: Latin

Popularity: 273rd in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,00 US}

Michelle:  Like with Ada I don’t know why I like this name so much. I just do. Could be what most people associate with, growing up watching Jessica Alba. Or it reminds me of the group Abba, it’s just a pretty neglected name.

 

Aoife

Pronunciation: EE-fa      Meaning: “beautiful, radiant”      Origin: Irish Gaelic

Popularity: 167th in England (2015) *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Mina: This is another Michelle introduction, which I love because she introduces me to so many amazing names. In truth I couldn’t pronounce or remember how to pronounce this name for the longest time. Now that I have, I thinks it is one of the many hidden gems that Ireland holds.

 

Amethyst

Meaning: purple gem     Origin: gem or color name    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:    Steven Universe made me love this name. There’s a girl, who is a gem, on there named Amethyst. Wow, I’m a dork.

 

14.

Alice

Meaning: “noble”      Origin: German       Popularity: 87th in the US  (2015)

Michelle:  Who hasn’t seen or heard of Alice in Wonderland? Which I’m 100% sure started my love for this name. Then add Resident Evils bad ass heroine, Alice. And this name is both feminine, imaginative, and fierce.

 

Ashton

Meaning: “ash tree place”   Origin: English   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country.

Mina: I love this gender bender name. I’m not a big fan of the name Ashley however Ashton, I find breaks that mold. I really like it for a girl.

 

Aurora

Meaning: “dawn”      Origin: Latin      Popularity: 79th in the US (2015)

Georgie:       Disney has beaten this name into my skull with all the Sleeping Beauty movies. The animated one, Malificent, the catchy songs. I had no chance.

 

15.

Adler

Meaning: “eagle”     Origin: German      Popularity: Not ranked in any countries top 1,000

Michelle:  Okay, so technically this isn’t a girl name and it hasn’t hit the gender bender line yet but it really should. I always think girl when the name comes up. Thoughts of Irene Adler from Sherlock Holmes or Grace Adler from Will & Grace come to mind. I really would love to signal boost this name. For either genders, it’s such a classic name.

 

Alice

Meaning: “noble”      Origin: German       Popularity: 87th in the US  (2015)

Mina: Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite movies. It’s so whimsical and imaginative, and this name always brings that to mind. I think it’s very pretty. I would definitely name my child Alice.

 

Ashley

Meaning: “dweller near the ash tree meadow”     Origin: English      Popularity: 85th in the US (2015)

Georgie:    There’s a companion on the first Mass Effect trilogy named Ashley Williams. I always chose her to save. So constantly hearing and saying her name I began to like it.

 

16.

Aria

Meaning: “air; lioness”    Origin: Italian; Hebrew     Popularity: 29th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  I really like this name, it’s melodic and strong. Its a muscial name that is currently taking the charts by storm. There is another spelling Arya, but it has a different meaning (noble) and this spellings meaning is better in my opinion.

 

Aspen

Meaning: tree of the poplar family    Origin: nature and place name    Popularity: 372nd in the US (2015)

Mina: When I used to live in Arizona and New Mexico, we used to travel to Colorado a lot so my dad could sell Turkish rugs to some vendors he knew. I remember Aspen being this beautiful city with snow covered mountains. It’s one of my mom’s favorite places too and her love for it, grew my love for it as a name.

 

Abigail

Meaning: “my father is joyful”    Origin: Hebrew    Popularity: 7th in the US (2015)

Georgie:    Another video game reference, Red Dead Redemption. There’s a character named Abigail who is the wife of the main guy. She’s takes no crap from anyone and I admire that.

 

17.

Arrow

Meaning: word name   Origin: old Norse    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:  I prefer this on girls, I don’t mind it on boys. I just like the ring for a girl. Its strong yet can also derive many cute feminine nicknames: Ari, Roe etc.

 

Andromeda

Meaning: “advising like a man”    Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: Andromeda is a name that grew on me through the Harry Potter series. I liked that despite her family’s beliefs, she followed her heart. I’d love to know more about the stories of all the Black sister though.

 

Amara

Meaning: “grace or bitter”      Origin: Igbo and Latin     Popularity: 461st in the US (2015)

Georgie:    Amara makes me think of the name Samara and I love that name a lot. So I like Amara as well.

 

18.

Austen

Meaning: “venerable”     Origin: Shortened form of Augustine

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:  Like I said I adore literary names and Austen is a big name in literature for me. Jane Austen is a pretty amazing writer. She kinda brought this name in light for girls, even if it’s just her last name. This name is gender neutral and I wish people would start using it for girls more.

 

Ariadne

Pronunciation: air-ee-AHD-nee    Meaning: “most holy”    Origin: Greek     Popularity: 765th in the US (2015)

Mina: Greek Mythology is always cool to me and Ariadne was no exception. I like that it’s different and I find her story with Theseus to be an interesting one

 

Allegra

Meaning: “joyous”      Origin: Italian     Popularity: 761st in England *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Georgie:     It makes me think of the musical term and I really like that association.

 

19.

Andromeda

Meaning: “advising like a man”    Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle: This is one of my favorite names, point blank. I know it’s chunky and could be too much for a child to carry but I would love for some courageous parents to use it. A nickname is feasible from Andromeda, Andy. I think it could be the future of names.

 

Alexandria

Meaning: “defender of men”    Origin: Greek     Popularity:  213th in the US (2015)

Mina: I like longish names and Alexandria’s not an exception. It’s a name that disappeared from my radar for a while but it’s slowly coming back. I like the way this name sounds and it comes with many nicknames opportunities.

 

Adaline

Meaning: Unknown        Origin: variation of Adeline        Popularity: 364th in the US (2015)

Georgie:   Adaline reminds me of Madeline. From the book series, I like it. Makes me smile.

 

20.

Aphrodite

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of Love     Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:  This name will probably never be in the top 1,000 anywhere and I can understand why.  Unfortunately it has some negative aspects being that everyone associates Aphrodite with adultery and being a bit of a nympho. I can’t help it I just like it.

 

Ariel

Meaning: “lion of God”     Origin: Hebrew    Popularity: 137th of the US (2015)

Mina: For the longest time I wanted to be a mermaid, and now I am so I guess that worked out. Anyways I love the Little Mermaid, and as much as I questions Ariel’s decisions, I adore her, her hair and her prince.

 

Akira

Meaning: “bright, intelligent”      Origin: Japanese

Popularity: 760th in England *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Georgie:   That’s adorable. I don’t know why I like it. It’s just pretty.

 

21.

Artemis

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of the Hunt      Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:  Another goddess name, probably not the last one. I just like how it rolls of the tongue. I also imagine a girl in the woods finding dinner with her crossbow. I feel like it’s a bit more usable the Aphrodite.

 

Avia

Meaning: “my father is god”    Origin: Hebrew   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: Again I have no clue why I love this name, I just do. I think it’s one of those short and sweet names.

 

Alexandra

Meaning: “defending men”      Origin: Greek       Popularity: 101st in the US (2015)

Georgie:    The meaning of the name always makes me go “Wow”. That may be weird but it’s my logic.

 

22.

Arwen

Meaning: “noble maiden”     Origin: Welsh

Popularity: 925th in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:  I’m a huge nerd. So it’s no shock that this Lord of the Rings name made my top A names. I loved it when I first read it, then to hear it, gah! I honestly think of Liv Tyler and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. She was gorgeous in that movie.

 

Agatha

Meaning: “good woman”    Origin: Greek

Popularity: 666th in England (2015) *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Mina: This name automatically makes me think of Agatha Cromwell from Halloweentown. That face alone grows my love for it because Halloweentown was my childhood as it was Michelle’s childhood as well.

 

Aaliyah

Meaning: “heavens, highborn, exalted”      Origin: Arabic      Popularity: 48th in the US (2015)

Georgie:     Its just a pretty name, it rolls of the tongue like butter. Plus the nicknames that go with this name are pretty cute too.

 

23.

Athena

Meaning: Unknown, Greek goddess of Wisdom    Origin: Greek mythology name

Popularity: 157th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This is a gorgeous name that’s in the top 200 in the USA, which gives hope to many of the other Greek mythology names I have on this list. But Athena could be a great first or middle name for a little girl, with no negative associations. Just strength, wisdom, and a sister.

 

Aurelia

Pronunciation: aw-REEL-ya or a-RAY-lee-a       Meaning: “the golden one”

Origin: Latin         Popularity: 802nd in the US (2015)

Mina: I know nothing about this name and up until last year I had never heard it. But I think it’s a really pretty name.

 

Aggie

Meaning: “student of agriculture”     Origin: English      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:      My sister and Mina like Agatha and I prefer Aggie. But it for the same reason Halloweentown. Nothing is wrong with that movie hence nothing wrong with this name.

 

24.

Addison

Meaning: “son of Adam”    Origin: English     Popularity: 24th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  Addison is a recent favorite of mine. There’s something fresh and mature about this name that I like. Could be for a little girl to a CEO. I’m not surprised that it’s so popular, I’m just sad I was late to the party.

 

Annabeth

Meaning: “favor, grace, and pledged to God”       Origin: Latin; English

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: I love the Percy Jackson series, both the books and the movies. One of the main characters’ name is Annabeth and she’s Athena’s daughter. But that’s not my biggest reason for loving her. I really liked that she was strong, held her own and wasn’t afraid to be herself.

 

Ariel

Meaning: “lion of God”     Origin: Hebrew    Popularity: 137th of the US (2015)

Georgie:     Under the sea, under the sea. That’s all I really think about it. Which works because I am a mermaid.

 

25.

Abigail

Meaning: “my father is joyful”    Origin: Hebrew    Popularity: 7th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This used to be one of my least favorite names but lately it’s changed so much that it’s in my top 25. I love the nicknames that come from this name: Abbie/Abbey or Gail.

 

Aster

Meaning: “star”      Origin: English; Greek     Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: I really love the name Esther and I enjoy the similarity that Aster has to it. It has a charm to it that I adore.

 

Autumn

Meaning: season between summer and winter      Origin: season name     Popularity: 67th in the US (2015)

Georgie:    My sister (I keep saying my sister, clarifying that my sister is Michelle) has a best friend named Autumn. And I liked that name when I first heard it. It’s different to me.

 

 

Almost Made It

 

1.

Annabeth

Meaning: “favor, grace, and pledged to God”       Origin: Latin; English

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any countries

Michelle:   This is such a great and versatile name the barely didn’t make my top. Its similar to Annabelle but it’s just different enough. Could even be from Elizabeth. This should be on more people watchlist.

 

Avalon

Meaning: “island of apples”     Origin: Celtic     Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: When I first saw this name on a list of names Michelle sent me, I remember thinking how cool it was. It’s not a common name, at least not to my knowledge, and that really adds to its charm.

 

Azaria

Pronunciation: a-za-RYE-ah    Meaning: “helped by God”  Origin: variation of Azariah

Popularity: 938th the US (2015)

Georgie:     The meaning is beautiful to me. I think it’d be a name for a special little girl.

 

2.

Ava

Meaning: “Life”   Origin: Latin   Popularity: 4th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  I tend not to gravitate towards very popular names but I can’t help but like Ava as so many others do. I would definitely never use it but it’s such a beautiful and feminine name.

 

Alivia

Meaning: Unknown     Origin: variation of Olivia      Popularity: 214th in the US (2016)

Mina: Olivia is a favorite, and I like this variation of it. At first I didn’t think it was pronounced like Olivia but I found out I was wrong and from there it began to grow on me.

 

Aberdeen

Meaning: Place name     Origin: Scottish place name     Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:     I think of Apple Jack from My Little Pony. Plus it’s a place it Scotland. How cool!

 

3.

Anais

Meaning: “grace”     Origin: French      Popularity: 335th in England (2015) *** {Not in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:  I hope this French name gains in popularity because it’s such a darling name. Understandably it’s not being used over here in the US because it could easily be mispronounced frequently. But it could also be a great middle for very popular names like Charlotte.

 

Aurora

Meaning: “dawn”      Origin: Latin      Popularity: 79th in the US (2015)

Mina: I like this name because it makes me think of the colorful lights of the Aurora Borealis.

 

Andrea

Meaning: “strong and manly”      Origin: Greek     Popularity: 117th in the US (2016)

Georgie:     One of my favorite characters on The Walking Dead was named Andrea. I loved how she had such a bite but yet tried to please and protect everyone.

 

4.

Aspen

Meaning: tree of the poplar family    Origin: nature and place name    Popularity: 372nd in the US (2015)

Michelle:  Mina is the reason that this name is even on my radar. She has always loved the name and it’s totally grown on me. Its such a name that could be girly and yet punchy.

 

Anna

Meaning: “grace”       Origin: Hebrew        Popularity: 44th in the US (2015)

Mina:  Anna is a short and sweet name that I think can grow with you. It’s also a very good stem name.

 

Audrey

Meaning: “noble strength”     Origin: English      Popularity: 37th in the US (2015)

Georgie:     There was this show on Syfy (in the US) named Haven and the lead character was a woman named Audrey Parker. I loved her character and eventually her name.

 

5.

Ainsley

Meaning: “one’s own meadow”     Origin: Scottish     Popularity: 339th in the US (2015)

Michelle:  This name bumped Aniston because in my view it’s cute and simple. Its got the exotic vibe without being overly lettered and exaggerated. Reminds me of the popular Kinsley.

 

Antonia

Meaning: “priceless one”        Origin: Latin

Popularity: 274th in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Mina: This name was brought to my attention by my best friend as many of my favorites have because she’s the name guru. At first I was hesitant of it but the more I looked at it and said it, it really grew on me.

 

Auriel

Meaning: “gold”       Origin: Latin   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:   This name is just unique to me not quite Ariel but not to Muriel. I don’t know, I just dig it.

 

6.

Alcott

Meaning: “dweller at the old cottage”        Origin: English

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:  Louisa May Alcott, a great influential writer, her last name has always been intriguing to me. I’ve always liked it thought it would be super edgy and unique on a girl, hell even a boy. And Allie would be a cute nickname.

 

Abigail

Meaning: “my father is joyful”    Origin: Hebrew    Popularity: 7th in the US (2015)

Mina: I don’t know why but for a while I had an aversion to this name. Recently I was convinced to give it another chance and I’m glad I did. It’s an adorable name and Abby is a really cute nickname.

 

Arrow

Meaning: word name      Origin: old Norse      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:        This name is cool!! Like how bad would it be to meet a little girl named Arrow. Fierce!

 

7.

Ayn

Pronunciation: rhymes with mine      Meaning: “prayer”

Origin: Hebrew: Finnish version of Ann  Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle: This is a guilty pleasure name. I love this solely because Ayn Rand was such a phenomenal writer.  I’ve loved her books since middle school. And her names always been interesting to me.

 

Allegra

Meaning: “joyous”      Origin: Italian     Popularity: 761st in England *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Mina: I used to think of the allergy medicine when I saw this name. But after a book I read, it turned into an actual name for me and I realized the beauty of it

 

Anala

Meaning: “fire”      Origin: Hindi      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:     My favorite Disney movie is Lion King and this name reminds me of Nala from the movie. Plus the meaning is pretty sweet. Fire, “Hi, my names Anala, fire princess.”

