We decided to do an experiment. These are our current favorite names that start with A, there are 25 boys and 7 almost made the top. I’ve included meaning, origin, popularity, and a little blurb on our love for the name. The B’s will be up soon.we will hopefully remember to do this again next January.

Michelle Leigh

 

1.

Alexander

Meaning: “defending men”       Origin: Greek     Popularity: 8 in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:     There was no doubt that Alexander was gonna be number one or two. This name is a staple in the naming category. Its repeatedly been chosen for first and middle names. I would definitely use it.

 

Aiden

Meaning – “little and fiery”    Origin – Irish     Popularity – #13 in 2015

 

Mina: The root of my love for this name is unknown but I absolutely adore this name.

 

Adagio

Meaning: “at ease”      Origin: Italian, musical term       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:      I like how the name can be for a boy or girl. Because in MLP the there’s a siren named Adagio, though she my second fave, her name is pretty cool.

 

 

2.

Asher

Meaning: “fortunate, happy one, blessed”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 83 in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:      This name has slowly made its way up my list. I think it’s effortlessly charming. I’ve never personally met an Asher but in one of my favorite series, there’s as Asher and he’s an amazing character. Plus the meaning is pretty great.

 

Alexander

Meaning: “defending men”       Origin: Greek     Popularity: 8 in the US (2015)

 

Mina: I grew to love this name because of Alex Gaskarth from All Time Low. But aside from him, I think it’s strong name that would work any male and it’s a favorite of mine.

 

Anakin

Meaning: “son of the red earth”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Georgie:        STARS WARS. Why Ani? Why?!

 

 

3.

Abraham

Meaning: “father of multitudes”      Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: 170 in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:     I’m a Walking Dead fanatic, I seriously love the show. Abraham Ford brought this name back into my life. I identified with him and his smart assery. So this name has now made it high on my list.

 

Augustus

Meaning: “Great, magnificent”    Origin: Latin   Popularity: 467 in the US (2015)

 

Mina: I love the name August so any name with August as a root, I find myself loving. Augustus is a favorite of mine also because I love the nickname Gus.

 

Archer

Meaning: “bowman”      Origin: English       Popularity: 289 in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:         I grew up watching Small Soldiers and I loved the character Archer he was so empathetic but could also probably kill you.

 

4.

Abner

Meaning: “father of light”    Origin: Hebrew   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:    Many consider this an “old” man name but I think it’s completely modern, like Otis. Reminds me off the cousin of Abraham. Its fresh yet has maturity and needs a revival.

 

Apollo

Meaning: Unknown, Greek god    Origin: Greek Mythology name    Popularity: 751 in the US (2015)

 

Mina: Michelle and I love Greek Mythology names as you will see throughout all our names. I’ve always been attracted to Apollo, I can’t tell you why but he’s always been really hot to me. So I definitely had to put this name on my list.

 

Alec

Meaning: “defending men”     Origin: Greek      Popularity: 455 in the US (2016)

 

Georgie:          I’m in a Twilight phase unfortunately. But there was a character named Alec and I just thought that’s a cool name but it sucked because of who his sister was.

 

 

5.

Arthur

Meaning: “bear”     Origin: Celtic     Popularity: 292 in the US (2015)

Michelle:     King Arthur made this name. Its heroic, poised, and prevail throughout history. Arthur is another timeless name that made it on my list. I’ve always liked it and probably always will.

 

Abaddon

Meaning: Angel of Death   Origin: Angel   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina: Angel names are another favorite of ours. Abaddon is that bad boy you don’t want to be attracted to kind of name. I like those types of names a lot.

 

Ash

Meaning: “ash tree”      Origin: English      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:       Pokémon is so iconic as is the lead trainer Ash. I grew up watching him battle and save the world.

 

 

6.

Atlas

Meaning: Unknown, Greek god    Origin: Greek god name     Popularity: 490 in the US (2015)

Michelle:      Atlas’ story has always been a favorite of mine. Atlas was a Titan who was tricked into holding the world on his back. Which is also how the reference got its name. Atlas is a name that many people aren’t ignoring anymore and that’s amazing.

 

Atticus

Meaning: “From Attica”    Origin – Latin   Popularity – 350 in the US (2015)

Mina: This is a Michelle introduction and after she showed it to me, I thought it was a really cool name. It sounds different and i find that appealing.

 

Azriel

Meaning: “God is my help”      Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:          My love for this name is lightly connected to the game Undertales. There’s a character with a similar name and gravitated towards this name because of the similarity.

 

7.

Archer

Meaning: “bowman”      Origin: English       Popularity: 289 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    This reminds me of a hippier Asher but also Archer from Small Soldiers. But regardless I think this name is super cute for a little tyke.

 

Austin

Meaning: “great, magnificent”   Origin: English, shortened form of Augustine   Popularity – 69 in the US (2015)

Mina: Recently Michelle brought to my attention how cute Austen with an E would be for a girl and I completely agree with her. However this spelling I love for a boy, I think its a good strong name.

 

Ace

Meaning: “one, unity”    Origin: Latin    Popularity: 418 in the US (2015)

Georgie:             I just like the versatility of this name. Could be for a little boy or a furry baby. I agree with my sister though it’s kinda bad boy name. Like Jokers son.

 

8.

Axl

Meaning: “father of peace”      Origin: Variation of Axel, Scandinavian version of Absalom        Popularity: 761 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    I’ve always liked the name Axel but Fergie and Josh Duhamel’s spelling choice has easily become a favorite of mine. I’ve met one Axel in my life and I’d love to meet more.

 

Abel

Meaning: “breath”     Origin:  Hebrew     Popularity: 125 in the US (2015)

Mina: This is also a Michelle introduction; I’m used not be a big biblical name person but the longer I’ve known Michelle, they’re really grown on me. Abel is a one of those names, for sure.

 

Angus

Meaning: “one strength”     Origin: Gaelic

Popularity: 60th in Scotland (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Georgie:           I love the legend of the Loch Ness. Growing up I watched the Water Horse religiously and the main characters name is Angus. I guess hearing a lot made me like it.

 

9.

Ajax

Meaning: Unknown    Origin: Greek mythology name      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:    Ajax just sounds like a gladiator which make sense the name is in mythology. Actually Tyler and I just got a new bird and named him this.

 

Amsterdam

Meaning: Unknown   Origin: Place name   Popularity: Not Ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Mina:  My parents got married in Amsterdam and they’ve always told me how much they loved it there. However for the longest time I was against anything Dutch for personal reasons but I found that when I gave it another chance, I loved Amsterdam as a name for guy.

 

Atlas

Meaning: Unknown, Greek god    Origin: Greek god name     Popularity: 490 in the US (2015)

Georgie:          There are so many ties to this name for me. From mythology to video games. I’m glad there are little Atlas’ running around.

 

10.

Auden

Meaning: “old friend”     Origin” English  Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle: I love this name for either gender but it appeals to me for a boy becuase of Audrey. Could be a great male equalivant. But there’s also the literary aspect of the name too.

 

Andrew

Meaning: “strong and manly  Origin: Greek  Popularity: #30 in the U.S (2015)

Mina: I like the nickname possibilities of this name. Drew and Andy are my favorites. Plus Andrew Lincoln is amazing and my love

 

Axel

Meaning: “father of peace”     Origin: German       Popularity: 123 in the US (2015)

Georgie:           I always liked the name. I can’t tell you exactly why but I just have.

 

11.

Aldwyn

Meaning: “Old friend”        Origin: English      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:    A bit of a tongue twister, Aldwyn feels science fiction-y. Like a hero in a video game or a period piece.  Writing this list I realize a like names that start A and den/en. I may have a problem.

 

Alec

Meaning: “defending men”  Origin: Greek, diminutive of Alexander  Popularity: #455 in the US (2015)

Mina: The Mortal Instruments series is my favorite book series. I adore the books, I’ve seen the movie and now I love the show. Jace was always my favorite character but Alec was a close second.

 

Abraham

Meaning: “father of multitudes”      Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: 170 in the US (2015)

Georgie:        My reasoning is like my sisters The Walking Dead, Mr. Abraham Ford was such a fierce loyal guy. Totally someone you want on your side.

 

 

12.

Alastair

Meaning: “defender”   Origin: English, Gaelic   Popularity: 889th in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the US top 1,000}

Michelle:   There are so many reasons I adore this name. Its Irish, long and regal, as well as a smart mouthed verging on stalker demon from Supernatural.

 

Archer

Meaning: “bowman”  Origin: English   Popularity: #289 in the US (2015)

Mina: I like this name because I find Archer to be different and a name filled with strength.

 

Adam

Meaning: “son of the red earth”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Georgie:          It just sounds reliable. Plus it doesn’t hurt that Prince Adam is a thing.

 

13.

Apollo

Meaning: Unknown, Greek god       Origin: Greek mythology name      Popularity:  751 on the US (2015)

Michelle:     I have a big thing for mythology related names as you guys have probably guessed. Apollo is the music god and I’m a music junkie so it’s not surprise he’s one of my favorites as a god and a name.

 

Asher

Meaning: “fortunate, blessed, happy one”  Origin: English  Popularity: #83 in the US (2015)
Mina: Asher is one of those names I imagine a hot surfer boy would have and I sound shallow but that’s part of why I love it.

 

Aedan

Meaning: “born of fire”    Origin: Irish     Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:         I got this spelling from Dragon Age and I always thought it was a unique twist on the popular Aidan.

 

 

14.

Augustus

Meaning: “great, magnificent”     Origin: Latin      Popularity: 467 in the US (2015)

Michelle:     I always think of Augustus Gloop from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, which isn’t too terrible. Its not the best thought but it could be way worse. Augustus is a proven powerful name.

 

Arlo

Meaning: “fortified hill”    Origin: Anglo-Saxon    Popularity: 502 in the US (2015)

Mina: I think Arlo is different and I find that not many people have it. I love the sound of it.

 

Arthur

Meaning: “bear”     Origin: Celtic     Popularity: 292 in the US (2015)

Georgie:      I always think of King Arthur and Excalibur and the amazing movie Quest for Camelot.

 

 

15.

Arlo

Meaning: “fortified hill”    Origin: Anglo-Saxon    Popularity: 502 in the US (2015)

Michelle:     Not gonna lie the first time I really heard of this name is when Leighton Meester and Adam Brody named their daughter, Arlo Day. From that, this name has been on my mind for either a girl or boy.

 

Alaric

Meaning: “All-powerful ruler   Origin: German   Popularity:

Mina: I first heard this name from the Vampire Diaries and I was hesitant of it and the character it belonged to. But the more I grew to love the character, the name really grew on me too.

 

Abel

Meaning: “breath”      Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: 125 in the US (2015)

Georgie:       I always thought the story of Cain and Abel was so tragic. I couldn’t imagine how that must have been. Abel got the bad end of the stick and I always thought his and was simple but strong.

 

 

16.

Angus

Meaning: “one strength”     Origin: Gaelic    Popularity: 60th in Scotland (2015) *** {Not ranked in the top 1,000 in the US}

Michelle:     I want to say I love this name because I grew up listening to AC/DC and Angus Young is guitar legend.  But it could also be because of the strong Scottish feel it gives off.

 

Ares

Meaning: “ruin, bane”   Origin:  Greek   Popularity:  #723 in the US (2015)

Mina: Greek God of war, the badass of the group. It’s a warrior name and I love that about it.

 

Altair

Meaning: “falcon”       Origin: Latin       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:  I play an unhealthy amount of video games. One of those games is Assassin’s Creed. The first game you play as Altair and I just thought that was an amazing name.

 

 

17.

Alaric

Meaning: “all powerful ruler”      Origin: German      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle:    I think supernatural beings like vampires and werewolves which I guess is stereotypical. I know there’s someone named Alaric in Vampire Diaries, so that could be my reasoning. I just like the strong feeling I get.

 

Ash

Meaning: “ash tree”   Origin: English, diminutive of Asher  Popularity:

Mina: My love for Pokemon comes out with this name. Ash Ketchum never ages and apparently neither does my love for this name.

 

Ajax

Meaning: Unknown    Origin: Greek mythology name      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie: My sister and Tyler recently got a bird and named it Ajax. I hadn’t really heard of it much before. Its a unique name.

 

18.

Anakin

Meaning: “son of the red earth”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    I would totally name a kid Anakin but I feel like a dog is more likely to happen. Anakin is a made up name just for Star Wars and if you know me I love Star Wars, I actually used this name in my Duggar challenge for the A’s.

 

Aslan

Meaning:  Lion   Origin: Turkish/Persian  Popularity:

Mina:  I wasn’t a big fan of this name until I saw the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe in 3rd grade. I loved Aslan in that movie and to top it off this name means lion in Turkish as well.

 

Anders

Meaning: “manly”      Origin: Scandinavian      Popularity: 794 in the US (2015)

Georgie:       The meaning makes me laugh for some odd reason but that’s not why I like this name. There was a guy in Dragon Age, he had an interesting role in the games.

 

19.

Amos

Meaning: “carried by God”         Origin: Hebrew        Popularity: 732 in the US (2016)

Michelle:     I’ve heard so much shit for this name. That it sounds like a smelly body part or it was a name of a racist on the radio decades ago. But regardless, I like it and am going to continue to. Its biblical and in with the short simple names that are coming back into style.

 

Aurelius

Meaning: “the golden one”   Origin: Latin   Popularity:

Mina: I don’t know why I love this name but I’ve seen Michelle use it and I remember thinking it was badass. So it made my list.

 

Aragon

Meaning: place name       Origin: Spanish place name       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:           This name is so similar to the bona-fide bad ass in Lord of the Rinhs, Aragorn. Plus there’s an alternative spelling, Eragon, a great dragon rider.

 

20.

Alfredo

Meaning: “wise counselor”       Origin: Celtic      Popularity: 587 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    Mina thinks I’m strange for loving this name. But I’m not because I love linguini alfredo and then Ratatouille came out and just sealed the deal on this name for me. Lil’ Alfredo it’s just a cute picture.

 

Aurelius

Meaning: “the golden one”   Origin: Latin   Popularity:

Mina: I don’t know why I love this name but I’ve seen Michelle use it and I remember thinking it was badass. So it made my list.

 

Aladdin

Meaning: “height of religion”     Origin: Arabic      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:            “A whole new world….” Disney’s Aladdin made this name always stick in my head.

 

21.

Alden

Meaning: “old, wise friend”    Origin: English     Popularity: 720 in the US (2015)

Michelle:   This name just seems regal and strong to me. Like a warrior of the past or a character in Skyrim. I feel like it would be a great substitute for the very popular Aidan.

 

Anakin

Meaning: “son of the red earth”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Mina: I love the Starwars movies and I loved Anakin, despite his downfall. He was so cute as a little kid and had so much potential. The name itself is so unique as well.

 

Albus

Meaning: “white, bright”     Origin: Latin      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:            Albus Dumbledore may you rest in peace, you wise powerful wizard..

 

 

22.

Aiden

Meaning: “little and fiery”      Origin: Irish     Popularity: 13 in the US (2015)

Michelle:   Aiden has been off and on my list of faves since middle school. The popularity factor has a lot to do with my decreasing favor of the name, if we’re honest. I love the meaning, thinks its so cool, especially for a little girl.

 

Atlas

Meaning:      Origin: Greek God Name   Popularity: 490 in the US (2015)

Mina: This name has a strange appeal to me. I really like the story of Atlas as well.

 

Austin

Meaning: “great, magnificent”     Origin: English       Popularity: 69 in the US (2016)

Georgie:       In my early teen names I used to watch Austin and Ally a lot. I since then have stopped but I always liked his name.

 

23.

Aurelius

Meaning: “the golden one”     Origin: Latin    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle: This name makes me smile when I hear. I think of gladiators, empires, and battles. Though I can see why it isn’t as popular as it feminine, Aurelia.

 

Avery

Meaning: “ruler of elves”  Origin: English  Popularity:  187 in the US (2015)

Mina:  I have a big love for Jackson Avery and that’s where this name began to appeal to me.  I like this name for a boy.

 

Alvin

Meaning: “noble friend, friend of the elves”     Origin: English      Popularity: 602 in the US (2016)

Georgie:     ALVIIIIIIIIIIIIIN, one of the most iconic chipmunks to ever grace the screen.

 

24.

Atticus

Meaning: “from Attica”    Origin: Latin   Popularity: 350 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    Atticus used to be way higher on my list but for the same reason I love it, is why it’s so low now. To Kill a Mockingbird is an amazing work, but the sequel places Scouts dad at KKK meeting, and that’s why this name has fallen a bit and there are some cooler ones higher.

 

Archibald

Meaning:  “truly brave”   Origin: English  Popularity:

Mina: I think this name is regal and i really like the first name to last name thing. This name especially grew on me after Nate Archibald from Gossip Girl.

 

Asger

Pronunciation: aska      Meaning: “spear of God”       Origin: Danish    Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:       I love how this sounds but I adore the menaing even more. Spear of God, how freaking cool.

 

 

25.

Ace

Meaning: “one, unity”    Origin: Latin    Popularity: 418 in the US (2015)

Michelle:   This is a cool guy name. Which I know sounds really lame. But I feel like he’d be best buds with Danny Zuko and Cry Baby.  Danny Zuko, Cry Baby, and Ace. I like the meaning though, I was suprised to read that.

 

Alejandro

Meaning: “defending men”  Origin: Spanish Variation of Alexander  Popularity:  180 in the US (2015)

Mina: I love Alexander and many of its variations as well. So that’s why Alejandro made my list.

 

Alexander

Meaning: “defending men”       Origin: Greek     Popularity: 8 in the US (2015)

Georgie:            This name has so many amazing nicknames like Alex, Lex, and Xander/Zander.

 

Honorable Mentions

1.

Asa

Meaning: “born in the morning”     Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: 531 in the US (2015)

Michelle: This gem is brand new to my favorite list. Its short, with a touch of exoticness that I think is making a comeback.

 

Arthur

Meaning:  “bear”   Origin: Celtic   Popularity:  292 in the US (2015)

Mina:  I wasn’t a big fan of this name until Arthur Weasley. I loved how he treated Harry, his strength and especially his love for his family.

 

Ashton

Meaning: “ash tree place”        Origin: English      Popularity: 141 in the US (2015)

Georgie:          I just like the feel of this name plus the built in nicknames.

 

2.

Alexis

Meaning: “defender”         Origin: Greek         Popularity: 343 in the US (2015)

Michelle:  As you can probably see I like gender neutral names. Alexis is typically a girl name but I think it could easily become be very popular among men. Alexei isn’t a bad alternative if Alexis is too feminine.

 

Adam

Meaning: “son of the red Earth”  Origin:  Hebrew  Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Mina: Adam is a commonly used name and I’m not sure why I like it so much but I do.

 

Adonis

Meaning: “lord”    Origin: Greek    Popularity: 702 in the US (2015)

Georgie:        This reminds em of Teen Titans, it didn’t like the character band Adonis but loved his name.

 

3.

Avery

Meaning: “ruler of the elves”     Origin: English    Popularity: 187 in the US (2016)

Michelle:  I don’t know why but I like Avery for a boy. It just seems to fit for me. Though the  meaning is pretty cool and adds to the name.

Anthony

Meaning: “priceless one”   Origin: Latin  Popularity: 25 in the US (2015)

Mina: I picked this name because I adore the name Tony. Since Tony can be derived from Anthony, it made my list.

 

Alastair

Meaning: “defender”   Origin: English, Gaelic

Popularity: 889th in England (2015) *** {Not ranked in the US top 1,000}

Georgie:      Alastair has been in so many things, like Ever After High, Dragon Age, and Supernatural. Just proves it’s a versatile name

 

4.

Art

Meaning: “noble one; bear man”      Origin: Diminutive of Arthur      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Michelle: I first heard this as a nickname for Arthur and I remember thinking ‘that’s neat’. It wasn’t until I binge watched Warehouse 13 that I remember the name Art from a character named Artie. Its edgy and being used by some celebs.

 

Augustine

Meaning:  “great, magnificent”   Origin: English variation of Augustus  Popularity: 820 in the US (2015)

Mina: Like I said about Augustus, I love any name with August in it. Augustine sounds like the more proper version of Augustus to me.

 

Aldwyn

Meaning: “Old friend”        Origin: English      Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:        It sounds like it belongs in Skyrim as a brother of Alduin.

 

5.

Abel

Meaning: “breath”      Origin: Hebrew      Popularity: 125 in the US (2015)

Michelle:    I debated back and forth about putting this name on the almost list. Sometimes I really love this name and then other times I’m like “eh”. Its a strange feeling that I deal with a lot.

 

Alberto

Meaning: “noble, bright”  Origin: Germanic  Popularity: 546 in the US (2015)

Mina:  I’m not sure how but recently this name grew on me. Maybe not enough to make my top, but definitely my almost list.

 

Amos

Meaning: “carried by God”         Origin: Hebrew        Popularity: 732 in the US (2016)

Georgie:        I wanna say in Brave there was a triplet names Amos but I could be wrong. Regardless it’s a name in need of a revival.

 

6.

Alfonso

Meaning: “noble, ready”     Origin: Spanish and Italian     Popularity: 792 in the US (2015)

Michelle:   This is just a fun name to say, I find. I would never use it but I do think it needs a comeback in any spelling variation.

 

Axel

Meaning: “father of peace”  Origin: German  Popularity: 123 in the US (2015)

Mina:  This, in my opinion, is another one of those bad boy names. I can totally see that.

 

Aro

Pronunciation: ah- ro     Meaning: “infertile ground, swampy area”

Origin: Finnish for Aaron        Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:     I originally hated this name but it recently grew on me.

 

7.

Adam

Meaning: “son of the red earth”    Origin: Hebrew     Popularity: 73 in the US (2015)

Michelle:   A classic name, a Disney Prince, a biblical man. Adam has so many associations, there’s no wonder it’s been around for ages. I like this name and last year it would have probably been in my top 25.

 

Alfie

Meaning:  “wise counselor”   Origin: English, diminutive of Alfred  Popularity:

Mina: I’m not a big fan of this name but I really like the song Alfie from Lily Allen, I always find it a very funny song she wrote for her brother.

 

Abraxas

Meaning: Unknown       Origin: Persian mythology name

Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

Georgie:       It makes me think of something that I just can’t put my finger on. But it’s a fierce name.

 

 

