Top 25 ‘C’ Girl Names

 

  1. Charlie

Meaning: “free man”    Origin: diminutive of Charles and Charlotte     Popularity: 207th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:         This is one of my all-time favorite names, I cannot tell you the origin of my love for this name. Charlie has also stemmed my love for her sister name, Charlotte, which is further down this list. I would love to use Charlie for a daughter, even the spelling Charleigh. To me this name is perfect, which I save for my ultimate favorites.

 

 

Celestia

Meaning: “heavenly”      Origin: Variation of Celeste, Latin       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:         My reason for this is a simple one, My Little Pony. Princess Celestia, Princess Luna’s sister. She’s wise, forgiving and everything a sister should be. She often reminds me of Michelle, because I know she’ll never give up on me.

 

 

Chloe

Meaning: “young green shoot”         Origin: Greek          Popularity: 17th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:       I absolutely adore this name. It made my number one because I just think it’s such a cute name. I also remember when I was younger Chloe was my favorite Bratz doll.

 

 

 

  1. Calliope

Pronunciation: ka-LYE-oh-pee     Meaning: “beautiful voice”     Origin: Greek mythology name       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:        I cannot think of anything that is wrong about this name. The meaning is sweet along with the mythical ties. To me the built in nicknames are extra, being Callie, Calla, and Poppy. All names I like in their own right.

 

 

Cadence

Meaning: “rhythm, beat”         Origin: Latin            Popularity: 341st in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:        Another My Little Pony name (the princess of love), though that’s not where my reasoning stops. It’s a gorgeous name that is also related to music. This is my favorite spelling of the name.

 

 

Calypso

Meaning: “she who hides”         Origin: Greek         Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

 Mina:         Michelle and I definitely have our favorite Greek Mythology names and Calypso is one of mine. I remember feeling bad for her when I first read her story. Plus I love how this name sounds.

 

 

 

  1. Clio

Pronunciation: CLEE-o               Meaning: “glory”                Origin: Greek              Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:       I’ve always felt connected to Cleopatra, even as a child. Her story and presence always captured me. I don’t know if it’s a pass life thing or what but I can’t explain it. With that said, I adore Clio as a name for a child, even though I prefer this spelling, Cleo isn’t bad either. It sounds sweet yet it has a punchy quality to it as well.

 

 

Coco

Meaning and origin: Spanish and French pet name         Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in ant country

 

Georgie:      My dogs name is actually Coco. So it’s safe to say I love this name, though it may not be my number one, it’s still a favorite. My mom actually had a Sheltie named Coco growing up, so it’s become a mini tradition. Plus the name is pretty darn cute.

 

 

Clio

Pronunciation: CLEE-o               Meaning: “glory”                Origin: Greek           Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:            One of Michelle’s favorites and I can see why. It’s short, cute and sweet. Another reason I like this name is because of the dog from Clifford the Big Red Dog. But Michelle’s definitely the one that brought this name back into the light for me.

 

 

 

  1. Clementine

Meaning: “mild, merciful”        Origin: French feminine version of Clement, Latin        Popularity: 819th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:        Another name where I can’t tell you why I love this name. But to me this name is such a sweet and girly name that presents so many adorable nicknames such as Clemmy, Clem, Tiny, and my personal favorite, Minnie. It’s probably the hippie and unique vibe that I like so much. Though I really love the meaning, those would be lovely qualities in a little girl. I was surprised to see the popularity spiked.

 

 

Clementine

Meaning: “mild, merciful”        Origin: French feminine version of Clement, Latin        Popularity: 819th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:     Another game reference to explain my love for a name. The main character in The Walking Dead video game is named Clementine. Since the first game and the first time I heard this name, I loved it. Unlike my sister, I mainly love Clem as a nickname.

 

 

Cordelia

Meaning: “heart; daughter of the sea”        Origin: Latin; Celtic        Popularity: 948th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:          It’s an older name that I love. I like the option of nicknames that come with this name. It’s so pretty.

 

 

 

  1. Calla

Meaning: “beautiful”         Origin: Greek          Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:      I think Calla is such a gentle, lovable, whimsical, youthful name. This name has actually skyrocketed up my favorite list, I would definitely try and use this name. Though I’ve noticed when it comes to C names for girls I tend to gravitate towards Cl- and Cal- beginning names.

 

 

Cerise

Pronunciation: se-rees            Meaning: “cherry”             Origin: French           Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:          In Ever After High, there’s a character named Cerise Hood, she is the offspring of Little Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf. Like I said I love wolfs and this combination of parentage just through me for a loop.

 

 

Charleigh

Pronunciation: CHAR-lee; SHAR-lee         Origin: Spelling variation of Charlie          Popularity: 528th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:        I remember when Michelle first told me she loved this name, I was hesitant about it but I quickly grew to love it.  I love saying this name and stretching it out. This name holds some great memories for Michelle and me. I love it!

 

 

 

  1. Calista

Meaning: “most beautiful”       Origin: Greek       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:          I have yet to completely decide if I like the single or double ‘l’ spelling but either way I love this name. It gives me a Hogwarts feel from this night plus there’s the additional astrology connection. Plus another name where Callie is a nickname.

 

 

Calypso

Meaning: “she who hides”         Origin: Greek         Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:        I like the way it sounds and the mythological being that goes with the name gets over looked all the time. Plus she was kinda wicked in the Pirates of the Caribbean series.

 

 

Chanel

Pronunciation: sha-NELL        Meaning: “dweller near the canal”       Origin: French        Popularity: 687th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:      Anyone who knows me, knows I love Chanel. It’s been my favorite brand since I was a little girl. So for it to make it on a list of my favorite C names, is no surprise.

 

 

 

  1. Cricket

Meaning and origin: nature name        Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:       This is such a cute, underrated name. I get the standoffish attitude because Cricket is a bug but if you take that association away from it, it’s adorable. And if Bee and Cloud are names why cant this be? I also have a personal connection to this name because Tyler calls me his lucky cricket, yes like from Mulan.

 

 

Calliope

Pronunciation: ka-LYE-oh-pee     Meaning: “beautiful voice”     Origin: Greek mythology name       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:        I like this simply because of my big sister. She loves this name and with her talking about it a lot, it grew on me.

 

 

Calla

Meaning: “beautiful”         Origin: Greek          Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:          When I was in second grade, I lived in Santa Fe and they had an artist come to our school to teach us how to draw and he made us draw a calla lily. It was so easy to draw but so pretty. So my love from it is partially derived from that, the second part is Michelle’s love for it bringing it back to into my life.

 

 

 

  1. Colette

Meaning: “Necklace, victorious”      Origin: French surname        Popularity: 531st in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:          This French name is a favorite because of the Disney movie Ratatouille, where I was actually introduced to this name. Like most French names it’s chic and youthful. I like that Coco and Lettie can be derived from Colette and the fact that it has the quality to age well with a person.

 

 

Chloe

Meaning: “young green shoot”         Origin: Greek          Popularity: 17th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:     There’s this game called Life is Strange and it has a character named Chloe. Chloe has an interesting and sad story, this game introduced to me to this name. But besides that I just think it’s a cool name that could fit a CEO or a blue haired teenager.

 

 

Coraline

Pronunciation: CO-ruh-line; Core-uh-line        Origin: Diminutive of Coral         Popularity: 576th in US (2015)

 

Mina:        One of my favorite movies is Coraline. It’s so creepy and extremely creative. I tend to really like Claymation movies and so it was a quick favorite. The name grew on me just as quickly.

 

 

 

  1. Cordelia

Meaning: “heart; daughter of the sea”        Origin: Latin; Celtic        Popularity: 948th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:       I grew up watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. In the beginning seasons there was a character, Cordelia Chase, she went through such a transformation that she became one of my favorites even when she left and went to the spin off Angel. Cordelia back then was such a weird name to me, I instantly fell in love with it. This is one of the few names that a truly regret not claiming.

 

 

 

Charlie

Meaning: “free man”    Origin: diminutive of Charles and Charlotte     Popularity: 207th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:       I used to watch Good Luck Charlie, but I soon grew out of it and unfortunately forgot about this name. But luckily Jurassic World brought it back to my life. And like you all know I loved the raptors.

 

 

Clementine

Meaning: “mild, merciful”        Origin: French feminine version of Clement, Latin        Popularity: 819th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:      Another favorite of Michelle’s. I love clementine’s as fruits but I never thought of it as a name until my best friend. Now I think it’s so different and really adorable.

 

 

 

  1. Colby

Meaning of Colby: “from a coal town” Origin of Colby: English    Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:         I was introduced to this name when I was about 12, I wanna say, due to one of my favorite shows, Survivor. Colby was one of the first contestants. He was this good ol’ boy from Texas who came back seasons later as a ‘Hero’. I thought it was a cool name but I instantly thought it’d be pretty cool on a little girl.

 

 

Chihiro

Meaning of Chihiro: “thousand questions”       Origin of Chihiro: Japanese        Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 of any country

 

Georgie:        I can’t remember where I heard this name but I really like saying it.

 

 

Clover

Meaning and origin: flower/nature name        Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:        I loved Totally Spies growing up. Sam was always my favorite but truthfully I was more like Clover. Clover is such a pretty name and I don’t know many Clovers so I find it unique.

 

 

 

  1. Coralie

Meaning: “coral”       Origin: French from Latin       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:          I’m not a huge fan of Cora or Coral, simply because I have difficulty saying it with my speech impediment. But somehow Coralie sounds not half bad coming from me. Another reason I like Coralie instead of the aforementioned names is that it feels like a sweeter version. Coralie actually beat another one of my favorites, Caroline.

    

 

Cassandra

Meaning: “prophetess”       Origin: Greek       Popularity 511th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:        So funny story I used to hate this name because of a much disliked video game character. But the sequel correctly remedied this and I soon fell in love.

 

 

Calliope

Pronunciation: ka-LYE-oh-pee     Meaning: “beautiful voice”     Origin: Greek mythology name       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:       I didn’t like this name when I first heard it on Grey’s Anatomy. However my best friend is a genius and the more and more she brought the name up with nicknames and all, I realized how pretty it was. She finds the best names, I swear.

 

 

 

  1. Clieu

Pronunciation: Cle-oo         Meaning and origin: French surname          Popularity: Not in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:      As I’ve said I love Cl- names, like my number 3, Clio. Clieu is surprisingly a Mina introduction name, of which I’m thankful my best friend takes French. She told me it’s kinda the French version of Cleo but mainly it’s the last name of a coffee business man. It’s not a conventional or even a ‘real’ name but neither was Apple and Blue at one point.

                                                                                                                                    

 

Cleo

Meaning: “glory”                Origin: Greek           Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:     Cleo de Nile is the sole reason why this made my list. Even though she’s a little bratty she is incredibly loyal to her loved ones and I admire that.

 

 

Charlotte 

Meaning: “free man”        Origin: French, feminine diminutive of Charles           Popularity: 9th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:       I’ve always thought this name was cute but recently I’ve fallen more in love with it. It’s a proper yet fun name. The nicknames Lottie and Charlie are a couple of the best ones. It’s a versatile name and I really like it.

 

 

 

  1. Charlotte

Meaning: “free man”        Origin: French, feminine diminutive of Charles           Popularity: 9th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:       If I’m completely honest I used to dislike this name and I have no clue why. But the more I fell for Charlie the more I started coming around to Charlotte and eventually it became a favorite. I get so many references to this name via pop culture. From literature to HBO, Charlotte transcends boundaries.

                                                                                                                                                                                

 

Connie

Meaning: “steadfastness”         Origin: Diminutive of Constance        Popularity: 153rd in England (2015) ** {Not ranked in the US top 1,000}

 

Georgie:        It sounds adorable and Steven Universe helped my love of this name. I honestly didn’t like it before but now I think it’s so cute.

 

 

Caroline

Meaning: “free man”            Origin: French, feminine variation of Charles             Popularity: 62nd in the US (2015)

 

Mina:    For the longest time, I had an aversion this name but when I was rewatching the Vampire Diaries, I realized that I actually like it. The character Caroline from the Vampire Diaries is mostly responsible for that.

 

 

 

  1. Clara

Meaning: “bright, clear”          Origin: Latin           Popularity: 98th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:           I’m so happy to see this name in the top 100, you don’t understand. I like the small southern charm that exudes from this name. Clara among others always tend to make me smile and think of cows, which to me is not a bad thing, being that I absolutely love cows. Funny enough the last time I heard Clara used was for an orphaned cow on a show on Animal Planet.

 

 

Cricket                                                                                                                                                                                 

Meaning and origin: nature name        Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:           My sister’s boyfriend calls her Cricket sometimes, especially when we play Halo together. I don’t know why nor do I want to. But overtime I grew to like this name.

 

 

Camellia

Meaning and Origin: Flower name          Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s 1,000

 

Mina:         I love this name partially due to Chanel. Chanel’s signature flower is the camellia and it’s such a pretty flower. And I think it’s an equal pretty name.

 

 

 

  1. Caoimhe

Pronunciation: kwee-va or kee-va        Meaning: “beautiful”        Origin: Irish, Scottish           Popularity: 703rd in England (2015)**{Not ranked in the US top 1,000}

 

Michelle:         This name made me love the name Keeva/Kiva. Even though this spelling is “difficult” to understand it’s still my favorite version. This Irish classic made Keeva for me, I now see it as a great name for a spirited little one with bright green eyes and curly hair. Hopefully people start recognizing the versatility of this name.

 

 

Crystal

Meaning and Origin: Gem name            Popularity: 550th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:             I always liked this name Crystal and by how many Crystal’s we know so do a lot of parents. I also really like the nickname Cris.

 

 

 

Cosette

Meaning: “little thing”            Origin: French, female version of Nicolas             Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:           I don’t know if I fell in love with this name when I watched Les Miserables with Liam Neeson or if I like it because it’s French sounding. But either way I love this name; the way it sounds, looks and nicknames.

 

 

 

  1. Callie

Meaning: “beautiful”         Origin: Greek diminutive            Popularity: 196th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:          Like I said in Calliope’s blurb, I liked the nicknames that could be derived from it. Like Calla, Callie is one and I love Callie. I never knew the meaning but now that I do it just adds to the awesomeness of this name. I also didn’t realize how popular the name had become, which makes me happy. I can picture a little girl with this name and thanks to CSI: Miami, I can picture a grown woman rocking this name. Though she spells it, Calleigh, which is different.

 

 

Cinderella

Meaning: “little ash-girl”                 Origin: French               Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:          Even though this comes from a fairy tale, I still think it’s a good name that should shed this Disney associations. But I also love in the animated movie that mice singing ‘Cinderelly, Cinderelly!’

 

 

Coral

Meaning and Origin: nature name          Popularity: Not ranked in any top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:       My mom ignited this love in me. When I was little she used to have these actually coral jewelry pieces that I loved. I thought they were so pretty. Coral can be a common name however I really like what it represents to me.

 

 

 

  1. Clementina

Meaning: “mild, merciful”            Origin: Spanish feminine form of Clement, Latin            Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:        I love Clementine but I also love Clementina. I knew of this name through Clementine but I didn’t fall in love with fully until I was looking into Portuguese names. The –tina ending gives it an exotic feeling plus there are the same nicknames plus any of the native nicknames that would come along with.

 

 

Carmen

Meaning: “garden”            Origin: Spanish variation of Carmel             Popularity: 382nd in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:            I first heard this name from the Spy Kids’ movies. I like that Carmen was the typical sister, she made fun of Junie but would defend him the next minute. The movie franchise made me slowly like this name.

 

 

Celeste

Meaning: “heavenly”          Origin: Latin        Popularity: 499th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:      I really like the sound of this name. It also reminds me of a little girl I used to babysit named Celeste, who was the sweetest.

 

 

 

  1. Clodagh

Pronunciation: CLO-dah          Origin: Irish river name          Popularity: Not ranked any top 1,000 of any country

 

Michelle:         I found this name when I was searching for names for my top C names. I’ve never given much thought to it beforehand but now I just think it’s completely adorable. Though I do hate the shit they wrote about it on a website I saw. I don’t understand how you can be so judgmental, someone out there has this name but anyways Clodagh in my opinion could be alternative to the popular Chloe. They do share a nickname, Clo.

 

 

China

Meaning and Origin: place name           Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:               I never realized this could be a name, I don’t know why. But now knowing that this country’s name is an actual people name, I find it a rare beauty.

 

 

Colette

Meaning: “Necklace, victorious”      Origin: French surname        Popularity: 531st in the US (2015)

 

Mina:       There are several reasons why I love this name. First is my best friend’s love for the name, which really fueled me. Second is Colette from the Shaytards on YouTube. She’s so kindhearted and loving that it’s hard not to admire her.

 

 

 

  1. Caspar

Meaning: “keeper of the treasure”            Origin: Persian, variation of Gaspar            Popularity: Not ranked in any top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:      I know this isn’t a typical girl name and as you can see many of my favorites aren’t. I heard this recently used for a girl off of the show Shooter and I instantly fell. I never ever thought of using it for a little girl but now it doesn’t seem so weird. You can get the ultra-cute nickname Cassie or Cass. I realize that I’m probably the only one rooting for this to become a popular gender bending name but please at least consider it?

 

 

Claire

Meaning: “bright, clear”        Origin: French form of Clara            Popularity: 49th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:              To me it’s one of the original of girly name. The meaning is quite pretty but very similar to the name. Though I’ve heard the over popularity is ruining some movies.

 

 

Clary 

Meaning: nature name             Origin: Variation of Claire and Clara              Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:         Back to the mortal instruments series, Clary being the main female, grew on me throughout the series. She’s fierce, family oriented, smart and very persistent.

 

 

 

  1. Carter

Meaning: “cart maker or driver”          Origin: English occupational name        Popularity: 533rd in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:      I never watched Finding Carter, so I don’t know why I love this typically male name for a little girl. I just do, and I hate not having a reason. Though with the popularity level I’m bound to meet a little Carter.

 

 

Clarity

Meaning and Origin: modern virtue name           Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:               I love that it’s a modern virtue name like the classic Grace and Faith. It’s such a fresh take on a name tradition, like Serenity, Verity, and Amity. Fun fact, I actually introduced this to my sister.

 

 

Çilek

Meaning: Strawberry          Origin: Turkish            Popularity: Not ranked in the US top 1,000

 

Mina:        As I am Turkish, there will be a few Turkish names in here.  Cilek is the Turkish word for strawberry which is one of my favorite fruits. I also think it sounds really adorable.

 

 

 

  1. Clancy

Meaning: “red-haired warrior”                 Origin: Irish                 Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:         I’ve always liked the sound of this name for either gender and I’m going to warn you Clancy will be on my boy list as well. It’s a strong Irish name that could be the big gender bending name. I mean it’s really like Clare and Nancy had a baby.

 

 

Cedar

Meaning: nature name          Origin: word name          Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:             I like that this common tree name has become a unique nature name in the baby name universe. Plus, this has become one of my sissy’s favorite nature name and I’ve heard it from her.

 

 

Cherise

Pronunciation: se-rees         Meaning: “cherry”         Origin: Variation of Cerise; French         Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:        This name for me was inspired the French word for cherry which is my favorite fruit. You will see a lot of fruits on my list and possibly Michelle’s. I really like how this name looks and how it sounds.

 

 

 

  1. Cliona

Pronunciation: CLEE-uh-na            Meaning: “shapely”            Origin: Irish              Popularity: Not ranked in any top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:        Cliona is another name I found whilst putting this list together, though I like the original spelling Cliodhna, I though the phonetic one would do just fine. It’s very popular in Ireland still and I don’t see why this couldn’t be very hip in the US. Though I do have the tendency to say it CLEE-oh-na, which is as equally cute.

 

 

 

Charlotte

Meaning: “free man”        Origin: French, feminine diminutive of Charles           Popularity: 9th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:             Charlotte’s Web made my cry. I love that dang spider.

 

 

Cora

Meaning: “maiden”          Origin: Greek               Popularity: 88th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:           To tell you the truth I don’t know why I like this name. Maybe because it’s a stem name of Coraline and coral. I’m not sure, however I really do love it.

 

 

 

  1. Cedar

Meaning: nature name          Origin: word name          Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:        I love Cedar as a name for a daughter and it would have been higher but unfortunately Tyler thinks it’s completely ridiculous. His reaction and thoughts for this name, I kind of agree with in a sense, so that’s why the cute tree name is so low.

 

 

Clover

Meaning and origin: flower/nature name             Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:               I just love this name, its shortish and cute.

 

 

Carson

Meaning: “son of the marsh dwellers”              Origin: Scottish and Irish                Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:     This name was a name I used for a character in one of Michelle and I’s stories. I really liked it at the time and since then it’s been a dormant favorite.

 

 

 

 

  1. Chloe

Meaning: “young green shoot”         Origin: Greek          Popularity: 17th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:           This name has grown on me because of Georgie and Mina’s love for it. It’s such a girly name that’s becoming way more popular then past years. Another reason this is a favorite is because in one of my favorite movies, Pitch Perfect, Brittany Snow’s character is Chloe and she’s just an oddball.

 

 

Claudia

Meaning: “lame; enclosure”          Origin: Feminine variation of            Popularity: 741st in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:           It’s such a pretty name with a weird funny meaning.

 

 

Cherry

Meaning and origin: fruit name

 

Mina:            Like I said with Cherise, I love cherries. I think it’s a sweet name that could be portrayed as weird but I love it nonetheless.

 

 

 

 

  1. Claudia

Meaning: “lame; enclosure”          Origin: Feminine variation of            Popularity: 741st in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:       I’m lame and proud of it because the reason I’ve always loved this name ever since I read the Babysitter books. There was a girl with the name Claudia she was in my opinion one of the coolest sitters. She was the trend setter, junk food eating Vice President. She loved showing her personality through her clothes and loved the color purple. I connected with her, hell I connected with most of the girls. Plus I have an Aunt Claudia and I like the nicknames Claude and Claudie.

 

 

Cloud

Meaning and origin: weather and nature name                       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:              I like this name for a person because I was thought that the clouds in the sky were some of the freest things in the world.

 

 

Cerulean

Meaning and origin: color name                     Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:          I think cerulean is a very pretty color. It wouldn’t be my number one name for a girl, however it’s definitely makes the list.

 

 

 

 

 

Almost made it

 

1 Calpurnia

Pronunciation: Cal-PERN-ee-ah           Meaning: “chalice cup”           Origin: Latin           Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any question

 

Michelle:         I like this name for one reason. She was Wednesday Addams aunt who was burned as a witch.  I don’t know I just like that association and Calpurnia just sounds so witchy and magical.

 

 

Carol

Meaning: “free man”         Origin: English, feminine variation of Charles          Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:           I just love Christmas carols and The Walking Dead’s Carol is a badass at times. Though the name is considered a classic grandmother name it’s still got some beauty.

 

 

Coco

Meaning and origin: Spanish and French pet name         Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:     Back to the Chanel thing, as many of you know, Coco Chanel is the founder of Chanel. So that’s where my original love comes from that. However Georgie & Michelle have a puppy, not really a puppy anymore but still, named Coco, who is adorable.

 

 

 

  1. Calytrix

Pronunciation: CALL-uh-trix            Meaning: “Star-flower”              Origin: Botanical

 

Michelle:           I can totally see this name going further up my list next year. I’m know thinking it should be higher. Regardless, Calytrix is such a unique name, its punchy yet soft and I dig that. Plus Calla and Trixie are lovely nicknames. I feel like she would be Bellatrix’s daughter though.

 

 

Cairo

Meaning and origin: Place name               Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:             I know that this is typically a boy name but I really do like it for a girl. It’s pretty, feminine, and gives you such cute nicknames such as Cai and Roe.

 

 

Callista

Meaning: “most beautiful”       Origin: Greek       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Mina:        This is one of Michelle’s favorites and I think it’s absolutely gorgeous. It makes me think of stars and stars have always intrigued me.

 

 

 

 

  1. Clover

Meaning and origin: flower/nature name             Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle:          I do think of Totally Spies when I hear this name but I also think of four-leaf clovers and that’s what makes me love this name. I used to search for four-leaf clovers with my Papa growing up. To my clover is a personal favorite.

 

 

Caoimhe

Pronunciation: kwee-va or kee-va        Meaning: “beautiful”        Origin: Irish, Scottish           Popularity: 703rd in England (2015)**{Not ranked in the US top 1,000}

 

Georgie:           This spelling is still so odd tome but my sister’s loves for this name has been passed to me. I think it’s such an interesting name and it reminds me of another favorite, Kida.

 

 

Cemre

Meaning: amber          Origin: Turkish            Popularity: Not ranked in the US top 1,000

 

Mina:             This is another Turkish name. My love for this is derived from a Turkish girl group called Grup Hepsi and my favorite member from it was named Cemre.

 

 

 

  1. Clemency

Meaning: “mild, merciful”                  Origin: English feminine variation of Clement, Latin                        Popularity: Not in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Michelle:         I heard this name from a YouTuber on one of those 10 Names I Love but Will Not Be Using videos and from that I have loved it. It’s a different name that I generally like, I ho5.pe people who like Clementine will consider this rare beauty. You get the same cute nicknames.

 

 

Calista

Meaning: “most beautiful”       Origin: Greek       Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 in any country

 

Georgie:                Like with my sister I get a magical feel from this name like she’s battling alongside the Golden Trio against the Death Eaters. But besides that, it’s such a beautiful and unique name

 

 

Celine

Pronunciation: sel-EEN                Meaning: “heavenly”               Origin: French variation of Celeste                Popularity: 824th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:             Celine has not always been a favorite of mine. For some time I didn’t think much of it. However I’ve recently fallen in love with Celine as a brand and thus the name as well. I just think it’s a very glamorous name, I don’t know why.

 

 

  1. Cloud

Meaning and origin: weather and nature name                       Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Michelle   I’m gonna sound dumb or clichéy but it’s just cute and I like it mainly for a middle name though.

 

 

Carissa

Meaning: “grace”             Origin: Greek              Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:       Carissa sounds elegant to me; I don’t know it reminds me of Marissa and Clarissa. I usually like names that have built in nicknames but I do love this name because its nickname proof.

 

 

Cherie

Meaning: “darling”                    Origin: French             Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

Mina:            This name means darling/dear in French and I think that’s adorable.

 

 

 

  1. Cora

Meaning: “maiden”          Origin: Greek               Popularity: 88th in the US (2015)

 

Michelle:      A very late addition to my list, like added right before posting, late. The big reason this isn’t higher on my list is because when I say it, it sounds off. I have difficulty saying my “r’s”, 8 years of speech class did nothing to remedy this. But anyways, it’s got the classic modern vibe that’s making coming back. Plus there’s a badass Biotic named Cora in the new Mass Effect game.

 

 

Celia

Meaning: “heavenly”            Origin: Latin              Popularity: 858th in the US (2015)

 

Georgie:              It’s cute and adorable but it has ‘don’t mess with me’ feel as well, I like that.

 

 

Cassandra

Meaning: “prophetess”          Origin: Greek            Popularity: 511th in the US (2015)

 

Mina:         I think I grew to love this name because of the Mortal Instruments. However, I really like how it looks as a name and how long it is.

 

 

 

  1. Corisande

Pronunciation: Core-uh-sund        Meaning: “chorus-singer”          Origin: Greek               Popularity: Not ranked in any country’s top 1,000

 

 

Michelle:       I found this name when looking for names I’d forgotten for this list and I just thought it was strikingly beautiful. It’s got a rare medieval beauty to it that could be just as popular as the favorites Cora and Caroline. There’s the possibility of mispronunciation and confusion but there’s also a familiar and popular nickname built in, that I’ve mentioned before, Cora. So, it is completely in my eyes a contender to become very trendy.

 

 

 

Channing

Meaning: “people of Cana or wolf cub”                 Origin: English or Irish                Popularity: Not ranked in country’s top 1,000

 

Georgie:      I know everyone knows this name because of Channing Tatum but I like it for a girl too. It sounds like a modern Shannon and I like the nickname Chan.

 

 

 

Celebi

Meaning and origin: Pokémon creation                   Popularity: Not ranked in the top 1,000 of any country

 

Mina:        Another Pokémon name, surprise surprise. But I love this name because I adore this Pokémon. I’ve always wanted to catch one in the games however I’ve never been able too.

